Honored Alumni

The Honored Alumni Award is the highest honor the university's Alumni Association bestows upon Cal Poly alumni and was established more than 50 years ago. The award recognizes alumni from the university's six academic colleges. The Alumni Association also recognizes alumni through The Cal Poly Alumni Association Distinguished Service Award and the Sandra Gardebring Ogren Leadership Award. Awardees are honored each year during Homecoming at the Honored Alumni Banquet.

The Cal Poly Alumni Association now accepts your Distinguished Service Award and Sandra Gardebring Ogren Leadership Awards nominations. Please submit by April 1 for consideration. 

2023 Honoree: Vicki Estrada

Image of Kevin Conger

Landscape Architecture, 1975

Vicki Estrada graduated from Cal Poly with the landscape architecture class of 1975 as a transfer student who came to Cal Poly with an AA in Architecture from San Diego Mesa College. For over 40 years of her career, she has nurtured community engagement to reflect diverse values and create responsive, community-centered environments that enrich and celebrate. Vicki’s distinguished professional career, for which she has been honored as a Fellow of the American Society of Landscape Architects, includes founding her San Diego-based firm, Estrada Land Planning, which provides land planning, urban design and landscape architecture design services for projects that range from community and master planning to parks, streetscapes and infill solutions that engage stakeholders in consensus building to help clients achieve environmental and cultural sustainability.

Learn More About Vicki Estrada

Sandra Gardebring Ogren Leadership Award: Kenric B. Stone

Image of Kevin Conger

Architecture, 1980

Vice President, The Austin Company

Stone is a committed supporter of Cal Poly, the Cal Poly Alumni Association and the California State University system. He represents and advocates for the university as a CSU Alumni Council member and past president and is a Cal Poly Foundation Board of Directors member. 

Learn More About Kenric B. Stone


Past Honored Alumni

2022 Susan Rozakis
2021 John R. Pangrazio
2020 Donna Clandening
2019 Kevin Conger
2018 Phil Serna
2017 Doug Lowe
2016 Wendy Ornelas
2015 Scott F. Gaudineer
2014 Ted A. Hyman
2013 Paul H. Hamalian
2012  Jack A. Berridge
2011  David J. Gilmore
2010  James E. Grant
2009  Wally B. Gordon
2008  Rebekah G. Gladson
2007  Mark B. Haselton
2006  Brent Dickens
2005  Ken Stone
2004  Mark Montoya
2003  Peter Berg
2002  Milford Wayne Donaldson
2001  Emanuele Barelli
2000  Robin L. Rossi
1999  Eugene E. Cole
1998  Gerald G. Green
1997  Kenneth A. Rodriguez
1996  Donald W. Dreusike



1995  Thomas A. Sabol
1994  Ernesto M. Vasquez
1993  Dean M. Gelvin
1992  Jacque L. Keller
1991  Doug H. Austin
1990  Paul C. Crawford
1989  Christopher J. Smith
1988  M. John Vickerman, Jr.
1987  C. Nicholas Watry, III
1986  Michael A. Theilacker
1984  Deborah A. Weldon
1983  Ray Takata
1982  David A. Wright
1981  Lawrence L. Simons
1980  James R. McGranahan
1979  Ingeborg Rose
1978  Paul Neel
1977  Donald Bensen
1976  George Ikenoyama
1975  Roger Honberger
1974  Bernard Adams
1973  Joel Rottman
1972  Homer Delawie
1971  William Richardson


Related Content


Connections Magazine

Vellum/CAED Furniture Competition turns 20

Read the latest issue of Connections, the College of Architecture and Environmental Design's quarterly e-magazine.

Read more

CAED Diversity Equity & Inclusion

CAED Diversity Plan Cover

Learn more about the CAED's Diversity Plan and Overview.

Read more

Giving to the CAED

Students in the ARCH 241 - Architectural Technology Fundamentals class display their custom-designed and handmade bricks. With the support of WRNS Architects in San Francisco, the class traveled to Pacific Clay in Lake Elsinore to make the bricks, after firing, they were shipped up to Cal Poly.

Learn how to support Learn by Doing at the CAED.

More on CAED support

Hearst Lecture Series

Johanna Hurme design

The CAED Spring 2024 Hearst Lecture Series features Johanna Hurme on Friday, May 10, 2024 at 5:00 p.m. PST at the Business Rotunda (03-213).

Click for Calendar